Malazan Empire: The UK Politics Thread - Malazan Empire

• 87 Pages +
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

The UK Politics Thread (Formerly the Brexit thread)

#1 User is offline   Gorefest 

• Witness
  • Group: Malaz Regular

Posted 21 June 2016 - 03:24 PM

So, two days until voting.

For those of you who missed it, the UK is holding a referendum on their relationship with the European Union. If people vote 'brexit', it will mean that the UK starts to make steps towards a full withdrawal from the European Union ("British exit"). If the remain camp wins, the UK will stay a member of the European Union.

Although I've been paying taxes in the UK for the past 10 years and own a house here, I cannot vote in this referendum as I am a Dutch national and not a British national. Seems a bit random to me, but fair enough.

According to the general polls, it is a very close race, with some polls predicting an exit and others a remain victory. Oddly enough, according to the bookies, bremain sits at 1/4 and brexit at 3/1 (i.e. the betting agencies lean very heavily in favour of a remain win)....

For what it's worth, my wife votes remain but my neighbour votes brexit. So they can be crossed away against each other. His wife votes brexit as well, but my in-laws are voting remain. So a slight advantage there for remain. Use it to your advantage! Inside info and all that...
Yesterday, upon the stair, I saw a man who wasn't there. He wasn't there again today. Oh, how I wish he'd go away.

#2 User is offline   Egwene 

• Emperor

Posted 21 June 2016 - 04:39 PM

I fear that the 'leave' fraction will win the day. That is the impression I get from people I meet at work, from the dominance of 'leave' posters in my neck of the woods and from the 'leave' campaigners seeming to be by far the more vocal group, whether in newspaper comments section or with stands in the middle of town.