• Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

What's messing with your groove?

#29221 User is offline   Mezla PigDog 

• Malazan Yo Yo Champion 2009
  • Group: Mezla's Thought Police

Posted 27 November 2022 - 12:03 PM

I don't think it is difficult and you definitely don't sound judgey.

It's wrong to send the World Cup to Qatar due to their human right record. It was 100% a corrupt decision. I read about why Qatar wanted it given they have zero football culture. They don't give a monkeys about what the west thinks. They did it as an expression of hard regional power to put themselves on the map as they are are vulnerable to trade blockades and coups. Apparently, I'm not an expert.

It's wrong to watch and take part in the same way it's wrong to eat meat, fly in aeroplanes and to outsource the manufacture of all of our consumer products to places with minimal workplace rights. We turn a blind eye to all of it due to convenience and privilege. Or we pick one or two 'bad' things to make ourselves feel better.

Hence my "screw it" attitude. There's blood on my hands either way.
Burn rubber =/= warp speed

#29222 User is offline   Tiste Simeon 

• Faith, Heavy Metal & Bacon
  • Group: Malaz Regular

Posted 27 November 2022 - 04:55 PM

Also a very valid (and understandably world weary) point. I almost feel the same about climate change. I think we're way too far gone so what's the point?

Fwiw in that instance I'm going to keep doing my part because if I feel I've tried for my kids I can sleep at night.
A Haunting Poem
I Scream
You Scream
We all Scream
For I Scream.

#29223 User is offline   Mezla PigDog 

Posted 27 November 2022 - 06:17 PM