• You cannot reply to this topic

Happy 2018 and good riddance 2017!

#1 User is offline   Aptorian 

• How 'bout a hug?
  • Group: The Wheelchairs of War

Posted 31 December 2017 - 01:26 PM

Happy New Year to the Empire!

Okay lets get it over with.

What are your New Years Resolutions? Come on. You know you have some! Even if you pretend you're above it. Do you have any new plans for 2018? Do you think your life is going to change significantly in the new year?

What did you think of 2017? Good? Bad? On a grand or personal stage.

--------

I finished my Library degree this year and spent most of the year unemployed and on welfare. Boy, that is an eye opener. Danish Welfare is not bad by global standards but getting by on less than a minimum wage in Denmark fucking sucks. I've experienced first hand the psychological and physical effects of the stress and uncertainty that comes with not having enough money and not knowing what the future holds.

Thankfully I've been in a intern program for the past 4 months at a library and I've gained a ton of practical experience. Within the next 2 weeks I will have a meeting with libraries boss and I may or may not get a time limited position which could greatly improve my financial situation. If everything goes as planned I might be hired full time before the new year is over. Maybe. If they have the money.

In terms of personal goals I started weightlifting again late this summer. I've lost about 20 pounds since October. My goal is to lose another 20 pounds before March. I've also made it a goal to broaden my cultural knowledge. I've begun to read all kinds of magazines at the library. From pop culture, to science, to fashion, to music and more. It's slowly increasing my over all interest in reading which has been at an all time low while I was at Uni.