• Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

cooking ideas/recipes etc

#1 User is offline   Macros 

• D'ivers Fuckwits
  • Group: High House Mafia

Posted 16 January 2016 - 11:28 AM

I was sure we already had a cookery thread, couldn't find it anywhere.

Anyway, Im a reasonable cook but my menu is quite limited.

Im intending on having a few people round for dinner either next weekend or in 3 weeks time.
Will be feeding about 10.

Would like to do something savory chickenesque for the main. The sides will be roasted veg and creamy irsh mashed potatoes.
Starter possibly just parmesan garlic wedges, with bacon.

Any ideas for the main chicken?

#2 User is offline   Tsundoku 

• A what?
  • Group: Malaz Regular

Posted 16 January 2016 - 02:24 PM

Guinness chicken?
"Fortune favors the bold, though statistics favor the cautious." - Indomitable Courteous (Icy) Fist, The Palace Job - Patrick Weekes

"Well well well ... if it ain't The Invisible C**t." - Billy Butcher, The Boys

"I have strong views about not tempting providence and, as a wise man once said, the difference between luck and a wheelbarrow is, luck doesn’t work if you push it." - Colonel Orhan, Sixteen Ways to Defend a Walled City - KJ Parker

#3 User is offline   Mezla PigDog 

• Malazan Yo Yo Champion 2009
  • Group: Mezla's Thought Police

Posted 16 January 2016 - 04:32 PM

I'm in comfort mode so can't think of any "fancy" recipes. Beer butt chicken is good fun and tastes nice. Google Jamie Olivers recipe. It's pretty much "novelty roast chicken". Might not fit in the oven with your roast veg though.

Or some form of chicken pie? If you say yes I have a good recipe for chicken, ham and leek. Pies look quite impressive and you can lie about buying ready made pastry if you don't want to risk it. I never make my own anymore, I'm too lazy and you can't taste the difference.