• « First
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

What's messing with your groove?

#17901 User is offline   Andorion 

• God
  • Group: Malaz Regular
  • Interests:All things Malazan, sundry sci-fi and fantasy, history, Iron Maiden

Posted 05 September 2015 - 04:24 AM

View PostAbyss, on 05 September 2015 - 04:08 AM, said:

View PostAndorion, on 05 September 2015 - 01:10 AM, said:

I stopped doing the knee-clenches in the last year. In hindsight that was an idiotic thing to do. I have also gained some weight ...

I'm not a doctor, nor do I play one on TV, but I have some experience with the general field and personal experience with a knee injury, and I would bet a fair glob of dollars this is the reason and answer to your problem.

Sigh... That's what I was afraid of

#17902 User is offline   Tsundoku 

• A what?

Posted 05 September 2015 - 05:13 AM

I still can't get the image of that little Syrian boy out of my head. I don't even know if I want to, if that makes sense.

I don't know why it affected me so much when I've seen video of worse, but it did. Maybe because my boy is about the same age.

You can be as logical (or callous) about the reasons his family was in that boat as you want, but if you aren't affected by what happened to him then there is something fundamentally wrong with you.

If I had shit-tins of resources I'd be funding proper safe zones in neighbouring countries for these people. So they could be safe, housed, fed and processed quickly in order to get them to a country accepting refugess so they could wait out this horrible business in a place they could have as normal a family life as possible. Even if it's a culture quite different from their own. Because when you get down to it, most people would be grateful to just raise their families and work etc in peace, I don't think the surrounding culture matters too much.