Malazan Empire: Twilight Imperium (II) - Chatty Thread - Malazan Empire

Jump to content

  • 292 Pages +
  • « First
  • 280
  • 281
  • 282
  • 283
  • 284
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Twilight Imperium (II) - Chatty Thread

#5621 User is offline   Galactic Council 

  • God
  • Group: Game Mod
  • Posts: 4,983
  • Joined: 30-April 13

Posted 20 December 2018 - 04:47 PM

Just FYI - Morgoth is not allowed to use the Diplomacy secondary after having been sabotaged. As Drek noted, secondaries MUST be played before any other part of a person's turn, so you can't retconn the decision to use the Diplomacy secondary IF an action card is sabotaged. I am crossing it out of his post now.
0

#5622 User is offline   Imperial Historian 

  • Master of the Deck
  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 7,882
  • Joined: 08-February 04

Posted 20 December 2018 - 05:35 PM

Honestly I thought morgoths intention to play diplomacy and refresh two planets (obviously his highest resource ones) was pretty clear from his post.

His original post had the intention to use diplomacy in it and he used a CT for it in his original post, his wording was more along the lines of I'm using diplomacy, but the specific planets don't matter because of this action card, I'll use it anyway in case someone sabotages me. And he clearly spent the CT in his post.

It's not that he waited until his action card was sabotaged before playing it, he did it but didn't update the specifics due to his action card.

I think it's very harsh to rule against him in this way, as it will mean he will lose on a technicality.
0

#5623 User is offline   Imperial Historian 

  • Master of the Deck
  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 7,882
  • Joined: 08-February 04

Posted 20 December 2018 - 05:39 PM

In any case I am going to wait to see a fully updated post from morgoth before moving.
0

#5624 User is offline   Galactic Council 

  • God
  • Group: Game Mod
  • Posts: 4,983
  • Joined: 30-April 13

Posted 20 December 2018 - 07:47 PM

View PostImperial Historian, on 20 December 2018 - 05:35 PM, said:

Honestly I thought morgoths intention to play diplomacy and refresh two planets (obviously his highest resource ones) was pretty clear from his post.

His original post had the intention to use diplomacy in it and he used a CT for it in his original post, his wording was more along the lines of I'm using diplomacy, but the specific planets don't matter because of this action card, I'll use it anyway in case someone sabotages me. And he clearly spent the CT in his post.

It's not that he waited until his action card was sabotaged before playing it, he did it but didn't update the specifics due to his action card.

I think it's very harsh to rule against him in this way, as it will mean he will lose on a technicality.



In the regular game, secondaries are played immediately after the primary is played (so during the turn of whoever is playing the Primary) so Morgoth would have already had to play Diplomacy before his turn even started.

Due to forum play, we have modified the rules a bit to make it so that secondaries must be the very first part of a person's turn.

Because the choice to use the diplomacy secondary would have already been made BEFORE he even played the action card, he can't submit a provisional to only play a secondary if the action card he would have to play AFTER deciding whether or not he uses the secondary is sabotaged.

I stand firm on this ruling and would have ruled the same without D'rek's interjection.

This post has been edited by Galactic Council: 20 December 2018 - 07:52 PM

0

#5625 User is offline   Gnaw 

  • Recovering eating disordered addict of HHM
  • View gallery
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 5,966
  • Joined: 16-June 12

Posted 21 December 2018 - 09:04 AM

View PostImperial Historian, on 20 December 2018 - 05:39 PM, said:

In any case I am going to wait to see a fully updated post from morgoth before moving.


Yoo-hoo, drunken Viking presence requested on aisle 4.
"Between stimulus and response there is a space. In that space is our power to choose our response. In our response lies our growth and our freedom." - Viktor Frankl
0

#5626 User is offline   Tapper 

  • Lover of High House Mafia
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 6,683
  • Joined: 29-June 04
  • Location:Delft, Holland.

Posted 21 December 2018 - 09:29 AM

View PostGalactic Council, on 20 December 2018 - 07:47 PM, said:

View PostImperial Historian, on 20 December 2018 - 05:35 PM, said:

Honestly I thought morgoths intention to play diplomacy and refresh two planets (obviously his highest resource ones) was pretty clear from his post.

His original post had the intention to use diplomacy in it and he used a CT for it in his original post, his wording was more along the lines of I'm using diplomacy, but the specific planets don't matter because of this action card, I'll use it anyway in case someone sabotages me. And he clearly spent the CT in his post.

It's not that he waited until his action card was sabotaged before playing it, he did it but didn't update the specifics due to his action card.

I think it's very harsh to rule against him in this way, as it will mean he will lose on a technicality.



In the regular game, secondaries are played immediately after the primary is played (so during the turn of whoever is playing the Primary) so Morgoth would have already had to play Diplomacy before his turn even started.

Due to forum play, we have modified the rules a bit to make it so that secondaries must be the very first part of a person's turn.

Because the choice to use the diplomacy secondary would have already been made BEFORE he even played the action card, he can't submit a provisional to only play a secondary if the action card he would have to play AFTER deciding whether or not he uses the secondary is sabotaged.

I stand firm on this ruling and would have ruled the same without D'rek's interjection.

OK, your prerogative as GC.

Now what, though? Is he going to redo his entire turn?

If you rule against him being able to use Diplomacy period, then he should get a Strategic CT back, considering he did spend it on Diplomacy in his original post.
Everyone is entitled to his own wrong opinion. - Lizrad
0

#5627 User is offline   Khellendros 

  • Saboteur of High House Mafia
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 7,298
  • Joined: 14-August 07

Posted 21 December 2018 - 01:00 PM

View PostGalactic Council, on 20 December 2018 - 07:47 PM, said:

View PostImperial Historian, on 20 December 2018 - 05:35 PM, said:

Honestly I thought morgoths intention to play diplomacy and refresh two planets (obviously his highest resource ones) was pretty clear from his post.

His original post had the intention to use diplomacy in it and he used a CT for it in his original post, his wording was more along the lines of I'm using diplomacy, but the specific planets don't matter because of this action card, I'll use it anyway in case someone sabotages me. And he clearly spent the CT in his post.

It's not that he waited until his action card was sabotaged before playing it, he did it but didn't update the specifics due to his action card.

I think it's very harsh to rule against him in this way, as it will mean he will lose on a technicality.



In the regular game, secondaries are played immediately after the primary is played (so during the turn of whoever is playing the Primary) so Morgoth would have already had to play Diplomacy before his turn even started.

Due to forum play, we have modified the rules a bit to make it so that secondaries must be the very first part of a person's turn.

Because the choice to use the diplomacy secondary would have already been made BEFORE he even played the action card, he can't submit a provisional to only play a secondary if the action card he would have to play AFTER deciding whether or not he uses the secondary is sabotaged.

I stand firm on this ruling and would have ruled the same without D'rek's interjection.


But to me it didn't read like a provisional, more like just him explaining his reason for using the diplo secondary. I thought he always intended to use the diplo secondary no matter what.
"I think I've made a terrible error of judgement."
0

#5628 User is offline   D'rek 

  • Consort of High House Mafia
  • Group: Super Moderators
  • Posts: 14,618
  • Joined: 08-August 07
  • Location::

Posted 21 December 2018 - 04:12 PM

I'd be fine with him still using DIPLO. It'd be a pretty hollow victory if we did still manage to beat him after it getting nulled like this.

View Postworrywort, on 14 September 2012 - 08:07 PM, said:

I kinda love it when D'rek unleashes her nerd wrath, as I knew she would here. Sorry innocent bystanders, but someone's gotta be the kindling.
0

#5629 User is offline   Itwæs Nom 

  • Inquisitor of High House Mafia
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 1,538
  • Joined: 02-August 15

Posted 21 December 2018 - 06:21 PM

View PostKhellendros, on 21 December 2018 - 01:00 PM, said:

View PostGalactic Council, on 20 December 2018 - 07:47 PM, said:

View PostImperial Historian, on 20 December 2018 - 05:35 PM, said:

Honestly I thought morgoths intention to play diplomacy and refresh two planets (obviously his highest resource ones) was pretty clear from his post.

His original post had the intention to use diplomacy in it and he used a CT for it in his original post, his wording was more along the lines of I'm using diplomacy, but the specific planets don't matter because of this action card, I'll use it anyway in case someone sabotages me. And he clearly spent the CT in his post.

It's not that he waited until his action card was sabotaged before playing it, he did it but didn't update the specifics due to his action card.

I think it's very harsh to rule against him in this way, as it will mean he will lose on a technicality.



In the regular game, secondaries are played immediately after the primary is played (so during the turn of whoever is playing the Primary) so Morgoth would have already had to play Diplomacy before his turn even started.

Due to forum play, we have modified the rules a bit to make it so that secondaries must be the very first part of a person's turn.

Because the choice to use the diplomacy secondary would have already been made BEFORE he even played the action card, he can't submit a provisional to only play a secondary if the action card he would have to play AFTER deciding whether or not he uses the secondary is sabotaged.

I stand firm on this ruling and would have ruled the same without D'rek's interjection.


But to me it didn't read like a provisional, more like just him explaining his reason for using the diplo secondary. I thought he always intended to use the diplo secondary no matter what.


Initially I read it just like Blend did but I can see now how this is more likely to be the case, guess he should also have specified the planets he was using it on when posting it, but I don't think that should disqualify him from using it altogether
All things fall from kings to rose petals
0

#5630 User is offline   Galactic Council 

  • God
  • Group: Game Mod
  • Posts: 4,983
  • Joined: 30-April 13

Posted 21 December 2018 - 08:47 PM

View PostItwæs Nom, on 21 December 2018 - 06:21 PM, said:

View PostKhellendros, on 21 December 2018 - 01:00 PM, said:

View PostGalactic Council, on 20 December 2018 - 07:47 PM, said:

View PostImperial Historian, on 20 December 2018 - 05:35 PM, said:

Honestly I thought morgoths intention to play diplomacy and refresh two planets (obviously his highest resource ones) was pretty clear from his post.

His original post had the intention to use diplomacy in it and he used a CT for it in his original post, his wording was more along the lines of I'm using diplomacy, but the specific planets don't matter because of this action card, I'll use it anyway in case someone sabotages me. And he clearly spent the CT in his post.

It's not that he waited until his action card was sabotaged before playing it, he did it but didn't update the specifics due to his action card.

I think it's very harsh to rule against him in this way, as it will mean he will lose on a technicality.



In the regular game, secondaries are played immediately after the primary is played (so during the turn of whoever is playing the Primary) so Morgoth would have already had to play Diplomacy before his turn even started.

Due to forum play, we have modified the rules a bit to make it so that secondaries must be the very first part of a person's turn.

Because the choice to use the diplomacy secondary would have already been made BEFORE he even played the action card, he can't submit a provisional to only play a secondary if the action card he would have to play AFTER deciding whether or not he uses the secondary is sabotaged.

I stand firm on this ruling and would have ruled the same without D'rek's interjection.


But to me it didn't read like a provisional, more like just him explaining his reason for using the diplo secondary. I thought he always intended to use the diplo secondary no matter what.


Initially I read it just like Blend did but I can see now how this is more likely to be the case, guess he should also have specified the planets he was using it on when posting it, but I don't think that should disqualify him from using it altogether


Yeah, now that I'm looking at it closer, I see what you all mean. I've asked Morgoth to confirm and to add to the planets he's using Diplo secondary on if he did in fact want to use it regardless.
0

#5631 User is offline   Morgoth 

  • executor emeritus
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 11,448
  • Joined: 24-January 03
  • Location:the void

Posted 22 December 2018 - 11:12 AM

Right. I’m back on my feet now. Sorry again, but puking constantly for several days made a mess of me.
Take good care to keep relations civil
It's decent in the first of gentlemen
To speak friendly, Even to the devil
0

#5632 User is offline   Morgoth 

  • executor emeritus
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 11,448
  • Joined: 24-January 03
  • Location:the void

Posted 22 December 2018 - 11:21 AM

And yeah, i thought i was clear that diplomacy was played first and not as a sort of provisional, but I see how that was in fact not so obvious. Especially as I didnt include the planets i was refreshing. In my defence I was very tired.

It should be all there now. Sorry again for holding up the game!
Take good care to keep relations civil
It's decent in the first of gentlemen
To speak friendly, Even to the devil
0

#5633 User is offline   Khellendros 

  • Saboteur of High House Mafia
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 7,298
  • Joined: 14-August 07

Posted 23 December 2018 - 11:36 AM

View PostMorgoth, on 22 December 2018 - 11:21 AM, said:

And yeah, i thought i was clear that diplomacy was played first and not as a sort of provisional, but I see how that was in fact not so obvious. Especially as I didnt include the planets i was refreshing. In my defence I was very tired.

It should be all there now. Sorry again for holding up the game!


Hope you're feeling better now. And don't worry, we deducted 1VP from you for holding the game up, so we're all square.
"I think I've made a terrible error of judgement."
0

#5634 User is offline   Gnaw 

  • Recovering eating disordered addict of HHM
  • View gallery
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 5,966
  • Joined: 16-June 12

Posted 23 December 2018 - 08:27 PM

View PostKhellendros, on 23 December 2018 - 11:36 AM, said:

View PostMorgoth, on 22 December 2018 - 11:21 AM, said:

And yeah, i thought i was clear that diplomacy was played first and not as a sort of provisional, but I see how that was in fact not so obvious. Especially as I didnt include the planets i was refreshing. In my defence I was very tired.

It should be all there now. Sorry again for holding up the game!


Hope you're feeling better now. And don't worry, we deducted 1VP from you for holding the game up, so we're all square.


Uh, Khell.....are you sure you want to set that particular precedent? Better think that one through with yourself as the offending party. ;)
"Between stimulus and response there is a space. In that space is our power to choose our response. In our response lies our growth and our freedom." - Viktor Frankl
0

#5635 User is offline   Tattersail_ 

  • formerly Ganoes Paran
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 13,264
  • Joined: 16-July 10
  • Location:Wirral
  • Interests:Mafia. Awesome Pictures. Awesome Videos. Did I mention Mafia?
    snapchat - rustyspoon84

Posted 23 December 2018 - 10:11 PM

All the shit I got last week
Apt is the only one who reads this. Apt is nice.
0

#5636 User is offline   Morgoth 

  • executor emeritus
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 11,448
  • Joined: 24-January 03
  • Location:the void

Posted 23 December 2018 - 10:26 PM

View PostTattersail_, on 23 December 2018 - 10:11 PM, said:

All the shit I got last week


Believe me when I say I’ve gotten more shit during that last week than you’ve ever gotten ingame ;)
Take good care to keep relations civil
It's decent in the first of gentlemen
To speak friendly, Even to the devil
0

#5637 User is offline   Tattersail_ 

  • formerly Ganoes Paran
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 13,264
  • Joined: 16-July 10
  • Location:Wirral
  • Interests:Mafia. Awesome Pictures. Awesome Videos. Did I mention Mafia?
    snapchat - rustyspoon84

Posted 23 December 2018 - 11:18 PM

View PostMorgoth, on 23 December 2018 - 10:26 PM, said:

View PostTattersail_, on 23 December 2018 - 10:11 PM, said:

All the shit I got last week


Believe me when I say I’ve gotten more shit during that last week than you’ve ever gotten ingame ;)


Hope it gets better
Apt is the only one who reads this. Apt is nice.
0

#5638 User is offline   Gnaw 

  • Recovering eating disordered addict of HHM
  • View gallery
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 5,966
  • Joined: 16-June 12

Posted 25 December 2018 - 07:49 AM

1 - Merry Christmas
2 - Happy Holidays
3 - Bah Fucking Humbug


Pick the one that makes you happy.
"Between stimulus and response there is a space. In that space is our power to choose our response. In our response lies our growth and our freedom." - Viktor Frankl
0

#5639 User is offline   Gnaw 

  • Recovering eating disordered addict of HHM
  • View gallery
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 5,966
  • Joined: 16-June 12

Posted 26 December 2018 - 08:45 PM

IH, you’re up.
"Between stimulus and response there is a space. In that space is our power to choose our response. In our response lies our growth and our freedom." - Viktor Frankl
0

#5640 User is offline   twelve 

  • Master of the Deck
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 9,166
  • Joined: 27-March 09
  • Location:Pacific Northwest

Posted 26 December 2018 - 08:53 PM

The Europeans of the group are probably still on holiday while those of us on the other side of the pond are back to slaving away already.
I don't know what I'm doing but it sounds good.
0

Share this topic:


  • 292 Pages +
  • « First
  • 280
  • 281
  • 282
  • 283
  • 284
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

3 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users