• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Food allergies

#21 User is offline   Mezla PigDog 

• Malazan Yo Yo Champion 2009
  • Group: Mezla's Thought Police

Posted 27 August 2016 - 04:56 PM

Argh. Pet hate. Understand your definitions first - allergy is different from intolerance. Celiac disease is a proper defined genetic disease that makes people ill when they have gluten. Intolerances make people uncomfortable - stomach pains, diarrhoea and the like. Allergies cause a histamine response that can kill in severe cases.

I have some knowledge of scientific data related to this as I worked in a research department looking into respiratory disease and asthma, eczema and peanut allergy but I don't have time to put a post together. Hygiene hypothesis is a popular one at the moment. A subject of new research is whether the western advice to give babies breast/formula milk exclusively for the first 6 months is also contributing to the rise in allergic disease due to the delay in adding more potential allergens to a childs system.
Burn rubber =/= warp speed

#22 User is offline   Cause 

• Elder God
  • Group: Malaz Regular

Posted 01 September 2016 - 01:46 AM

I think a lot of people lie!

I know at least one person whom says she is gluten intolerant when what she really is, is on some kind of gluten free fad diet. I think it's fairly common. Why? I have no idea

#23 User is offline   Solidsnape 

• Emperor
  • Interests:Playing Guitar/Ukulele/Banjolele, reading, music, Wing Chun Kuen, my 2 boys and my wonderful GF.
  • From good 'ol Newcastle upon Tyne.

Posted 01 September 2016 - 10:48 AM

View PostCause, on 01 September 2016 - 01:46 AM, said:

I think a lot of people lie!

I know at least one person whom says she is gluten intolerant when what she really is, is on some kind of gluten free fad diet. I think it's fairly common. Why? I have no idea