Malazan Empire: Cotillion WIP - Looking for insights/critiques/suggestions - Malazan Empire

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Cotillion WIP - Looking for insights/critiques/suggestions

#1 User is offline   renegaade 

• Recruit
  • Group: Malaz Regular

Posted 27 August 2015 - 02:00 PM

Posted Image

Please take a look at the below link first! :D

MY COTILLION ARTWORK WIP.

Hi there! I am BRAND new to the Malazan Empire, and am about half way through Gardens of the Moon. My favourite character so far, is definitely Cotillion, and as I looked up art online, I found it did not match the image that I had in my head for the character. And so, I've decided to manifest my interpretation on paper.
I've been recieving insights on reddit in these two posts:

Reddit Post 1
Reddit Post 2 after taking suggestions

And it's been really helpful! I've gotten to a point where I believe he is at the age he would be in the book. But I feel like I am not quite done yet, so as I discovered this forum, I thought it would be a great place to garner even more understanding of the Cotillion character. If you can illuminate any characteristics that may be missing from my artwork's tentative final sketch, that would be greatly appreciated.

Any passages in the book that pertain to his appearance would be helpful, but be mindful that I am only halfway through GotM, so only appearance spoilers please! Nothing pertaining to his journey/story, etc.

Any suggestions or theories as to what you believe him to look like would help me shape my final work as well. Thanks in advance, guys!

This post has been edited by renegaade: 27 August 2015 - 02:08 PM

#2 User is offline   Andorion 

• God
  • Interests:All things Malazan, sundry sci-fi and fantasy, history, Iron Maiden

Posted 27 August 2015 - 02:25 PM

I believe I saw this on Reddit yesterday. Its a different take but I love it

#3 User is offline   renegaade 

• Recruit