• Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Buying a new computer Advice?

#1 User is offline   MTS 

• Fourth Investiture
  • Group: Malaz Regular

Posted 07 October 2014 - 06:03 AM

Hey guys, so I'm buying a new computer (obviously), and looking to build my own. I've only ever really bought laptops, aside from a desktop that was already made, so I'm kinda new to the whole 'buying computer hardware' thing, and am unsure of what works well together, or even which brands are all that reputable. I've done some searching on the net, and have come up with a preliminary components list:

SSD: Samsung 850 Pro 512 GB ($409)
CPU: Intel 6-core i7-5820K ($448)
GPU: nVidia 4GB GTX 980 Gainward ($709)
Memory: G-Skill Ripjaws 16GB kit 2400 DDR4 RAM (4GBx4) ($305)
Monitor: Samsung S27C570H ($318)
Motherboard: ASRock X99 Extreme 4 ($291)
Power Supply: Corsair 80+ Gold CS750M ($149)
Case: Carbide Series® Air 540 High Airflow ATX Cube Case ($189)
BR-Drive: SATA Blu-Ray Combo Pioneer ($57)

So tell me what you think, computer people. Good value for money? Suggestions for better/more efficient parts? Like I said, I'm kinda in the dark here and don't want to blow a heap of money to find that some parts don't play well together, or are just shit. :D

Oh, and I'll mostly be doing gaming, surfing the web and watching movies/TV shows. So nothing super intensive like video rendering or whatever (well, aside from gaming).

This post has been edited by MTS: 07 October 2014 - 06:05 AM

Antiquis temporibus, nati tibi similes in rupibus ventosissimis exponebantur ad necem.

Si hoc adfixum in obice legere potes, et liberaliter educatus et nimis propinquus ades.

#2 User is offline   Defiance 

• Vicariously I live while the whole world dies
  • Interests:Malazan, RPGs, writing

Posted 07 October 2014 - 07:19 AM

If you have that kind of money to spend, go ahead. That said, for your intended uses, you are going a bit overboard.