Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

World Creation or Plots and Characters?

#1 User is offline   cliftonprince 

• Corporal
  • Group: Malaz Regular

Posted 05 March 2016 - 08:22 PM

Introduction, question, howdy to the board ...

Me: I'm new to the Malazan thing -- just got Gardens of the Moon and have read the first 100 pages or so (city of Pale has fallen, and the Hairstyle dude wizard whatsisname has ended up transmogrified into a wooden doll by dangerous ancient magicky stuff, that's about it). Yes, I found the JPG here which indicates suggested reading orders without spoilers, etc.. I looked around. :D

I am (kind of) enjoying the HUGELY encyclopedic scope by which the world (of all these Malazan-related works of fiction) has been invented. But, for me, I wonder ... is it too much? I'm happy that I'm not confused by the characters, even though Erikson has introduced like 40 of them in the first 100 pages of GotM (see? I'm using an abbreviation!), so that's credit to his skill at making them memorable and distinct and at SHOWING rather than TELLING us what they're like. I like to think that I'll write fantasy and sci-fi with a healthy dose of world-creation in it. But I'm unlikely to read all 10 Malazan novels, or even to read all the way through this first GotM novel before I move to something entirely different (Dune? rereading Pullman?). I would thus ask ...

What's the right mix?