Malazan Empire: Eclipse - Game #2 - Malazan Empire

Jump to content

  • 148 Pages +
  • « First
  • 114
  • 115
  • 116
  • 117
  • 118
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

Eclipse - Game #2 Rise of the Ancients

#2301 User is offline   Tattersail_ 

  • formerly Ganoes Paran
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 13,263
  • Joined: 16-July 10
  • Location:Wirral
  • Interests:Mafia. Awesome Pictures. Awesome Videos. Did I mention Mafia?
    snapchat - rustyspoon84

Posted 22 February 2013 - 03:32 PM

View Postcerveza_fiesta, on 22 February 2013 - 03:28 PM, said:

And don't think I'm calling you cheaters with all my rule disputes...I really don't mean it that way.

It's only my first time through a full game and I want to make sure I'm clear on the subtleties so I can make better decisions next game.


me too.
Apt is the only one who reads this. Apt is nice.
0

#2302 User is offline   D'rek 

  • Consort of High House Mafia
  • Group: Super Moderators
  • Posts: 14,612
  • Joined: 08-August 07
  • Location::

Posted 22 February 2013 - 03:34 PM

View Postcerveza_fiesta, on 22 February 2013 - 03:28 PM, said:

And don't think I'm calling you cheaters with all my rule disputes...I really don't mean it that way.

It's only my first time through a full game and I want to make sure I'm clear on the subtleties so I can make better decisions next game.


Yup, that's fine, I don't think anyone is taking any offence.

re: above, actions are not really "simultaneous". If you do a Move, the order you move individual ships can change things with regards to pinning. If you Explore, you have to pick a spot, then orient the hex based on the spot. So you can slot colonization in between any of the steps of an action. You could move one ship, colonize, and then move the second ship, etc.

View Postworrywort, on 14 September 2012 - 08:07 PM, said:

I kinda love it when D'rek unleashes her nerd wrath, as I knew she would here. Sorry innocent bystanders, but someone's gotta be the kindling.
0

#2303 User is offline   cerveza_fiesta 

  • Outdoor Tractivities !
  • Group: Malazan Artist
  • Posts: 5,341
  • Joined: 28-August 07
  • Location:Fredericton, NB, Canada
  • Interests:beer, party.

Posted 22 February 2013 - 03:44 PM

@ D'rek

fair enough. That's fine.

Also, you seem to have "chained" influence discs to get to Beta Hydrii by placing one first in psi capricorni (adjacent to your ship) and then in beta hydrii which is adjacent to psi capricorni.

I didn't realize that was allowed either. Not that it would have mattered to my game. The rules don't specifically mention that you can or can't do that either.
........oOOOOOo
......//| | |oO
.....|| | | | O....
BEERS!

......
\\| | | |

........'-----'

0

#2304 User is offline   D'rek 

  • Consort of High House Mafia
  • Group: Super Moderators
  • Posts: 14,612
  • Joined: 08-August 07
  • Location::

Posted 22 February 2013 - 03:52 PM

View Postcerveza_fiesta, on 22 February 2013 - 03:44 PM, said:

@ D'rek

fair enough. That's fine.

Also, you seem to have "chained" influence discs to get to Beta Hydrii by placing one first in psi capricorni (adjacent to your ship) and then in beta hydrii which is adjacent to psi capricorni.

I didn't realize that was allowed either. Not that it would have mattered to my game. The rules don't specifically mention that you can or can't do that either.


Yup. Any action where you do multiple of the same thing works like two (or more) individual doings of it.

So with Influence, you move one disc, then you move another, and the second disc's move is dependent on the first being done. So you can put one disc down, then use it to place another disc. But you would not be able to remove a disc, and then place a disc based off where it used to be.

It's the same with the Hydra double research - they do one research, and then another. If they research two techs in the same row, getting the first one increases the discount for the second.

Likewise, the Planta's double explore is two separate explores - you can explore one hex, then explore from that first one further out with the second explore.

You could argue that Upgrade and Explore are the same, too, but for them it doesn't really matter because we only worry that ship parts work out (ie: having a drive, power vs consumption) at the end of the upgrade action and builds don't really depend on each other.

View Postworrywort, on 14 September 2012 - 08:07 PM, said:

I kinda love it when D'rek unleashes her nerd wrath, as I knew she would here. Sorry innocent bystanders, but someone's gotta be the kindling.
0

#2305 User is offline   cerveza_fiesta 

  • Outdoor Tractivities !
  • Group: Malazan Artist
  • Posts: 5,341
  • Joined: 28-August 07
  • Location:Fredericton, NB, Canada
  • Interests:beer, party.

Posted 22 February 2013 - 04:08 PM

Right. That's a good way of putting it. Separate steps in an action count as individual mini-actions and can be done in any order. The final result is legal provided all mini-actions were legal according to game rules.
........oOOOOOo
......//| | |oO
.....|| | | | O....
BEERS!

......
\\| | | |

........'-----'

0

#2306 User is offline   twelve 

  • Master of the Deck
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 9,166
  • Joined: 27-March 09
  • Location:Pacific Northwest

Posted 22 February 2013 - 04:44 PM

View Postcerveza_fiesta, on 22 February 2013 - 02:37 PM, said:

You alright with me influencing Beta centauri Twelve? I could use the materials production and econ boost....and I have the influence disc to burn.

Also, IH is going to take it back if we don't grab it right away.



Yes go ahead and take Beta Centauri. I don't plan on using an influence action on it.

Sorry about the delay. I spent the night as a vomit catcher for my youngest so tried to sleep as late as I could.

Okay since CF isn't going to take them I will stick with my original order

Research Improved Hulls
I don't know what I'm doing but it sounds good.
0

#2307 User is offline   cerveza_fiesta 

  • Outdoor Tractivities !
  • Group: Malazan Artist
  • Posts: 5,341
  • Joined: 28-August 07
  • Location:Fredericton, NB, Canada
  • Interests:beer, party.

Posted 22 February 2013 - 06:06 PM

I think I gotta make a move twelve. Beta centauri can be influenced next turn, but I should probably place an interceptor in Beta Delphini to prevent D'rek influencing it next turn, no? That's 2 moneyslots...and we can't let her get that much board control in a single turn, especially since I didn't manage to boot her out of D. Corvi. At best I can influence it next round for the moneycubes. At worst we force her to waste a move to block me from doing so.

I can influence Beta Centauri next turn anyways, since nobody has parked a ship there to block us

What is your general idea for this round anyway?
........oOOOOOo
......//| | |oO
.....|| | | | O....
BEERS!

......
\\| | | |

........'-----'

0

#2308 User is offline   twelve 

  • Master of the Deck
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 9,166
  • Joined: 27-March 09
  • Location:Pacific Northwest

Posted 22 February 2013 - 06:39 PM

View Postcerveza_fiesta, on 22 February 2013 - 06:06 PM, said:

I think I gotta make a move twelve. Beta centauri can be influenced next turn, but I should probably place an interceptor in Beta Delphini to prevent D'rek influencing it next turn, no? That's 2 moneyslots...and we can't let her get that much board control in a single turn, especially since I didn't manage to boot her out of D. Corvi. At best I can influence it next round for the moneycubes. At worst we force her to waste a move to block me from doing so.

I can influence Beta Centauri next turn anyways, since nobody has parked a ship there to block us

What is your general idea for this round anyway?



Build. Move. Upgrade. Conquor. Not necessarily in that order.

I kept going back an forth on a number of different options. I've already abandoned one as I agree with the, we can't let D'rek settle anymore territory, philosophy. I say we put at least one ship in each of her territories and force her to choose which ones she wants to defend. As I have missles on everything but my cruisers and have the inititive edge I'll try and get an interceptor in each of her hexes to counter her orbitals. I say we can probably knock her down to a hex or two by the end of the round.
I don't know what I'm doing but it sounds good.
0

#2309 User is offline   cerveza_fiesta 

  • Outdoor Tractivities !
  • Group: Malazan Artist
  • Posts: 5,341
  • Joined: 28-August 07
  • Location:Fredericton, NB, Canada
  • Interests:beer, party.

Posted 22 February 2013 - 06:53 PM

move 2 interceptors


from mu arae, via d.corvi warp portal to beta sextantis, leave 1 in Beta Hydrii to break the orbital pin, send the second through to Beta Delphini.
........oOOOOOo
......//| | |oO
.....|| | | | O....
BEERS!

......
\\| | | |

........'-----'

0

#2310 User is offline   D'rek 

  • Consort of High House Mafia
  • Group: Super Moderators
  • Posts: 14,612
  • Joined: 08-August 07
  • Location::

Posted 22 February 2013 - 07:12 PM

Ok, back to EM's turn.

@EM - their ships are all around me and IH, now is the time to strike!

View Postworrywort, on 14 September 2012 - 08:07 PM, said:

I kinda love it when D'rek unleashes her nerd wrath, as I knew she would here. Sorry innocent bystanders, but someone's gotta be the kindling.
0

#2311 User is offline   cerveza_fiesta 

  • Outdoor Tractivities !
  • Group: Malazan Artist
  • Posts: 5,341
  • Joined: 28-August 07
  • Location:Fredericton, NB, Canada
  • Interests:beer, party.

Posted 22 February 2013 - 07:12 PM

Yup, good plan. We can't keep her from getting a bunch of booty this turn as she's already influenced and colonized a bunch of crap. We hopefully can keep her from having free reign over 1/4 of the board in the final round though.
........oOOOOOo
......//| | |oO
.....|| | | | O....
BEERS!

......
\\| | | |

........'-----'

0

#2312 User is offline   twelve 

  • Master of the Deck
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 9,166
  • Joined: 27-March 09
  • Location:Pacific Northwest

Posted 22 February 2013 - 07:35 PM

View Postcerveza_fiesta, on 22 February 2013 - 07:12 PM, said:

Yup, good plan. We can't keep her from getting a bunch of booty this turn as she's already influenced and colonized a bunch of crap. We hopefully can keep her from having free reign over 1/4 of the board in the final round though.



When you said Beta Delphini I thought you meant Capella. D'rek probably doesn't even care about the double money planet as she is near maxed out in dough. If she does influence again it will be in Capella as it has an orbital there already which will give her more points.
I don't know what I'm doing but it sounds good.
0

#2313 User is offline   twelve 

  • Master of the Deck
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 9,166
  • Joined: 27-March 09
  • Location:Pacific Northwest

Posted 22 February 2013 - 07:39 PM

View PostD, on 22 February 2013 - 07:12 PM, said:

Ok, back to EM's turn.

@EM - their ships are all around me and IH, now is the time to strike!



Well that is just not true. CF still has a cruiser and 4 interceptors not to mention I still have my Dread sitting in Beta Leonis. Feel free to send ships our way with your puny ineffective computers and low inititive. If all your ships aren't wiped out before they get a chance to shoot I'd be surprised.
I don't know what I'm doing but it sounds good.
0

#2314 User is offline   cerveza_fiesta 

  • Outdoor Tractivities !
  • Group: Malazan Artist
  • Posts: 5,341
  • Joined: 28-August 07
  • Location:Fredericton, NB, Canada
  • Interests:beer, party.

Posted 22 February 2013 - 07:48 PM

Beta Delphini at least gives me a chance to up my own money production. I couldn't influence in Capella anyway.
........oOOOOOo
......//| | |oO
.....|| | | | O....
BEERS!

......
\\| | | |

........'-----'

0

#2315 User is offline   D'rek 

  • Consort of High House Mafia
  • Group: Super Moderators
  • Posts: 14,612
  • Joined: 08-August 07
  • Location::

Posted 22 February 2013 - 07:51 PM

View Posttwelve, on 22 February 2013 - 07:39 PM, said:

View PostD, on 22 February 2013 - 07:12 PM, said:

Ok, back to EM's turn.

@EM - their ships are all around me and IH, now is the time to strike!



Well that is just not true. CF still has a cruiser and 4 interceptors not to mention I still have my Dread sitting in Beta Leonis. Feel free to send ships our way with your puny ineffective computers and low inititive. If all your ships aren't wiped out before they get a chance to shoot I'd be surprised.


EM has shields and tons of hull. His ships can take a whole lot of missile pounding and survive through it.

Plus he has materials to build even more of them.

And besides, it's round 8, what else is he going to do?

View Postworrywort, on 14 September 2012 - 08:07 PM, said:

I kinda love it when D'rek unleashes her nerd wrath, as I knew she would here. Sorry innocent bystanders, but someone's gotta be the kindling.
0

#2316 User is offline   twelve 

  • Master of the Deck
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 9,166
  • Joined: 27-March 09
  • Location:Pacific Northwest

Posted 22 February 2013 - 07:57 PM

View Postcerveza_fiesta, on 22 February 2013 - 07:48 PM, said:

Beta Delphini at least gives me a chance to up my own money production. I couldn't influence in Capella anyway.



Correct but you could have stopped her from doing it before battle resolution but you gaining more money isn't a bad thing.
I don't know what I'm doing but it sounds good.
0

#2317 User is offline   twelve 

  • Master of the Deck
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 9,166
  • Joined: 27-March 09
  • Location:Pacific Northwest

Posted 22 February 2013 - 07:58 PM

View PostD, on 22 February 2013 - 07:51 PM, said:

View Posttwelve, on 22 February 2013 - 07:39 PM, said:

View PostD, on 22 February 2013 - 07:12 PM, said:

Ok, back to EM's turn.

@EM - their ships are all around me and IH, now is the time to strike!



Well that is just not true. CF still has a cruiser and 4 interceptors not to mention I still have my Dread sitting in Beta Leonis. Feel free to send ships our way with your puny ineffective computers and low inititive. If all your ships aren't wiped out before they get a chance to shoot I'd be surprised.


EM has shields and tons of hull. His ships can take a whole lot of missile pounding and survive through it.

Plus he has materials to build even more of them.

And besides, it's round 8, what else is he going to do?



He researched orbitals. Clearly he wants to build a couple with all that material.
I don't know what I'm doing but it sounds good.
0

#2318 User is offline   D'rek 

  • Consort of High House Mafia
  • Group: Super Moderators
  • Posts: 14,612
  • Joined: 08-August 07
  • Location::

Posted 22 February 2013 - 08:08 PM

View Posttwelve, on 22 February 2013 - 07:58 PM, said:

View PostD, on 22 February 2013 - 07:51 PM, said:

View Posttwelve, on 22 February 2013 - 07:39 PM, said:

View PostD, on 22 February 2013 - 07:12 PM, said:

Ok, back to EM's turn.

@EM - their ships are all around me and IH, now is the time to strike!



Well that is just not true. CF still has a cruiser and 4 interceptors not to mention I still have my Dread sitting in Beta Leonis. Feel free to send ships our way with your puny ineffective computers and low inititive. If all your ships aren't wiped out before they get a chance to shoot I'd be surprised.


EM has shields and tons of hull. His ships can take a whole lot of missile pounding and survive through it.

Plus he has materials to build even more of them.

And besides, it's round 8, what else is he going to do?



He researched orbitals. Clearly he wants to build a couple with all that material.


Bah!

View Postworrywort, on 14 September 2012 - 08:07 PM, said:

I kinda love it when D'rek unleashes her nerd wrath, as I knew she would here. Sorry innocent bystanders, but someone's gotta be the kindling.
0

#2319 User is offline   cerveza_fiesta 

  • Outdoor Tractivities !
  • Group: Malazan Artist
  • Posts: 5,341
  • Joined: 28-August 07
  • Location:Fredericton, NB, Canada
  • Interests:beer, party.

Posted 22 February 2013 - 09:58 PM

View Posttwelve, on 22 February 2013 - 07:57 PM, said:

View Postcerveza_fiesta, on 22 February 2013 - 07:48 PM, said:

Beta Delphini at least gives me a chance to up my own money production. I couldn't influence in Capella anyway.



Correct but you could have stopped her from doing it before battle resolution but you gaining more money isn't a bad thing.


no worries. there is a plan of sorts. No particular requirement for coordination between us until you start thinking about your moves anyway.
........oOOOOOo
......//| | |oO
.....|| | | | O....
BEERS!

......
\\| | | |

........'-----'

0

#2320 User is offline   Imperial Historian 

  • Master of the Deck
  • Group: Administrators
  • Posts: 7,882
  • Joined: 08-February 04

Posted 22 February 2013 - 10:41 PM

Pssst EM.
1. Build warp portal
2. Bypass all Cf and twelves ships
3. ??????
4. Profit
0

Share this topic:


  • 148 Pages +
  • « First
  • 114
  • 115
  • 116
  • 117
  • 118
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • This topic is locked

2 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users