• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

The USA Politics Thread

#10501 User is offline   Puck 

• Mausetöter
  • Group: Malaz Regular

Posted 08 May 2020 - 03:57 PM

View PostTavvar, on 08 May 2020 - 01:29 PM, said:

Hmm, that became an essay. I have a History/Poli Sci degree and was bored during a meeting....

Well, I enjoyed reading it, so thanks for all the information!
Puck was not birthed, she was cleaved from a lava flow and shaped by a fierce god's hands. - [worry]
Ninja Puck, Ninja Puck, really doesn't give a fuck..? - [King Lear]

#10502 User is offline   QuickTidal 

• Frog
  • Group: Team Quick Ben
  • Interests:Nothing, just sitting. Quietly.

Posted 08 May 2020 - 04:14 PM

Someone noted it above, but one on the biggest problems in US elections is that how elections are run is not in the Constitution, so its left to the states. So we have 50 different types of elections, all with unique rules based on who the government wants to vote. There are a lot of tools that the governing party can do to change who votes (assigning pooling places, voter ID, who is on voter rolls, time polls are open, early voting, gerrymandering, etc). One of the worst cases recently is the 2018 Georgia governor's race: the Republican candidate was the Secretary of State who controls elections and he purged the voter rolls prior to the election, and I believe he cleared off more people than the final margin that he won by over Stacy Abrahms. Allowing the guy in charge of running elections run for office is insane.