• You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Photography

#121 User is offline   Tiste Simeon 

• Faith, Heavy Metal & Bacon
  • Group: Malaz Regular

Posted 27 October 2009 - 12:33 PM

View PostBinder of Demons, on 22 October 2009 - 02:37 PM, said:

@ Tiste - I know what you mean about Photoshop. It can be a major pain in the @ss to get it to work right without spending ages at times. As an amateur wildlife photographer, i have an aversion to manipulating my images in any way, so i try to use photoshop as little as possible. As a result i'm not really that skilled with it. And landscape images are one of the trickiest things to get right, since there can be so many conflicting elements, so any advice i give is from experience with my own struggles at getting good landscape shots.

Yeah, I've seen some of the crazy stuff that can be done, and it makes me think that I don't know what to believe in photography any more!! :p My gf says that she won't heavily manipulate imagery, but try and get light settings and colours right etc. in order to make the picture fuller.

With your landscape shot that i manipulated, you can see though how a bit of work can really brighten the image. The problem is that there is too great of a range between the brightest part and the darkest part of the image, which is why the foreground looked dark, while the sky looked washed out. Traditionally, a landscape photographer would have used a graduated filter to balance the light difference between the upper and lower halves of the image (a grad filter is basically a piece of glass which is half clear/half darkened glass which goes in front of your lens). The advantage of digital photography is that you don't need the grad filter, but can either do some fancy photoshop work on your single image, or combine multiple images to get a better dynamic range (i'm still not any good with combining images).