Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Going all in…

#1 User is offline   frozenfish 

• Recruit
  • Group: Malaz Regular

Posted 13 October 2016 - 05:56 PM

I wanted to introduce myself to what appears to be a greatcommunity. I am doing something that I have never done before. Join a groupdedicated to a specific series. But I get the sense to fully appreciate theawesomeness of this series it is a must.

Ok so a little back story on me. I would say I am fairly newto the fantasy genre as I just recently started reading fantasy. Tend to read alittle bit of everything (Sci-Fi, Post-Apoc, Thriller/Spy Thriller, anythingthat sounds interesting). I'm also the "got into fantasy because of the Game ofThrones TV show" person. But have played games and liked Skyrim/Morrowind in thepast. I have read ASOIAF up to "A Dance with Dragons", and just finished JoeAbercrombie's "First Law Trilogy". Both of which I really enjoyed. Would alsoinclude Harry Potter (still reading through at the ripe old age of 31). All-timemost favorite series I've read so far are "The Dark Tower" series by Stephen King, "The Expanse" series by James S. A. Corey, and "Mitch Rapp" series by Vince Flynn.

My questions are. Would I enjoy this series as the first entryinto Epic Fantasy? Or would I be lost with the magic system, and other fantasytropes? I am looking for an epic series to fall in love with. Would also like aseries where everything is not clear cut, and makes me think. Also wouldeveryone recommend reading the 10 books in the series before starting on theother books tied to this world? Or follow the Ultimate reading order offGoodreads mixing the books together? Would like to know what people have found to be the most enjoyable.

Thank you for your time. Hopefully I will get to knoweveryone better as I begin this journey.

#2 User is offline   Itwęs Nom 

• Inquisitor of High House Mafia
  • Group: High House Mafia

Posted 13 October 2016 - 06:13 PM