Malazan Empire: Just finished Gardens of the Moon! [Spoilers] - Malazan Empire

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Just finished Gardens of the Moon! [Spoilers] ...and i have a few questions and my opinions.

#1 User is offline   Mykar Blackheart 

• Recruit
  • Group: Malaz Regular

Posted 10 October 2016 - 03:32 AM

This may be long, so i apologize in advance and will contain spoilers.

So, i've just finished the first book and i can certainly say i enjoyed myself. So i'll list what i loved, what i hated and then questions.

Loved:
1) Anomander Rake: Awesome guy, super badass. He is now one of my favorite fictional characters.
2) The magic system. i'm no warren expert but i love the way its unique, mysterious, and powerful.
3) The description of power. Whether its a character in the vicinity of two giants clashing or if its just magic flowing through someone. The description is makes it feel so real and amazing.
4) The Apsalar/Sorry plot-line. I started out just being annoyed by her but i've grown to like the characters story.
5) Even though we only caught a glimpse of the crimson guard. They seem like interesting people and i cant wait to read more about them.
6) That first chapter about the Tyrant...the one that ended in "The Jaghut Tyrant walked into the light" was f@#king beautiful and poetic. My favorite from the book. He felt like a true villain.

Hated:
1) The Tattersail and Ganoes romance. felt rushed and fake. (This is why i dont normally enjoy romance novels. It feel like this most of the time.)
2) The Tyrant felt so imposing and scary. I felt so cheated when i didnt get to see him at full power battling Anomander.
3) This might just be my copy of the book, but sometimes the name is spelled "Coll" and sometimes "Coil"
4) I was really hoping to see an epic clash or a massive final battle but i never really got it. I seriously hope this isnt the case for the rest of the series.