Malazan Empire: New Essay by Steven Erikson - Malazan Empire

• 4 Pages +
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

New Essay by Steven Erikson About the proposed change to the World Fantasy Award Statuette

#1 User is offline   Ribald 

• Scholar of High House Academia
  • Group: Malaz Regular
  • Interests:Freelance Editor, Advance Reader, and academic with a PhD in Fantasy Literature.

Posted 14 November 2015 - 07:09 AM

Steven Erikson has written an essay about the controversy around changing the World Fantasy Award from a bust of HP Lovecraft to something else.

https://thecriticald...steven-erikson/

Not sure how much people here have followed this, but it looks like it is blowing up in much the same way the Hugo controversy did.
Trust me, I'm a doctor.
www.thecriticaldragon.com

#2 User is offline   Andorion 

• God
  • Interests:All things Malazan, sundry sci-fi and fantasy, history, Iron Maiden

Posted 14 November 2015 - 07:31 AM

Very nice article. I must say I was unaware of Lovecraft's racism till this controversy started. I think Steve's response is balanced and well put.

#3 User is offline   worry 

• Master of the Deck

Posted 14 November 2015 - 08:59 AM

Here's a fun little game on this very topic: http://www.beesgo.biz/horp.html
They came with white hands and left with red hands.

#4 User is offline   Andorion 

• God

Posted 14 November 2015 - 10:02 AM

View Postworry, on 14 November 2015 - 08:59 AM, said:

Here's a fun little game on this very topic: http://www.beesgo.biz/horp.html

I got an Average on my knowledge of Lovecraft though to be honest I deduced most of my correct replies.

#5 User is offline   Grief 

• Prophet of High House Mafia
  • Group: Administrators

Posted 14 November 2015 - 11:43 PM