Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

A question regarding warrens...

#1 User is offline   Los Mul 

• Recruit
  • Group: Malaz Regular

Posted 14 April 2015 - 09:49 PM

Hello. I'm quite new to the Malazan world, having only read GOTM and a little bit of Forge of Darkness.

What I really want to know about is warrens, as I am rather confused as to what they actually are. I know that certain characters draw energy from warrens and can "open" warrens and pass through them. Are warrens essentially alternate dimensions? That is the impression I am getting, though I'm not quite sure, and I can never find a simple, straight answer anywhere ;)

Help would be appreciated, thank you!

#2 User is offline   Esa1996 

• Fist

Posted 14 April 2015 - 09:57 PM

View PostMaelys I Blackfyre, on 14 April 2015 - 09:49 PM, said:

Hello. I'm quite new to the Malazan world, having only read GOTM and a little bit of Forge of Darkness.

What I really want to know about is warrens, as I am rather confused as to what they actually are. I know that certain characters draw energy from warrens and can "open" warrens and pass through them. Are warrens essentially alternate dimensions? That is the impression I am getting, though I'm not quite sure, and I can never find a simple, straight answer anywhere ;)

I'd say they are alternate dimensions, yes. That's how I've described them whenever I've been talking about them to friends.

Ps. You really should read the main series before Forge of Darkness.

A good reading order would be something like this:

MBF 1-6

NME 1

MBF 7

NME 2

MBF 8-10

NME 3-6

KT

MBF = Malazan Book of the Fallen by Steven Erikson

NME = Novels of the Malazan Empire by Ian Esslemont

KT = Kharkanas Trilogy

The Bauchelain and Korbal Broach stories can be read whenever you want to read them, they spoil nothing.

This post has been edited by Esa1996: 14 April 2015 - 09:59 PM

#3 User is offline   worry 

• Master of the Deck