Malazan Empire: ECLIPSE VI - Malazan Empire

Jump to content

  • 140 Pages +
  • « First
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

ECLIPSE VI R6: IH, CF, Tatts, D'rek, Tapper, Blend , Gnaw, Twelve, Khell

#621 User is offline   twelve 

  • Master of the Deck
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 9,166
  • Joined: 27-March 09
  • Location:Pacific Northwest

Posted 12 February 2015 - 08:35 PM

Pretty sure she is taking 105
I don't know what I'm doing but it sounds good.
0

#622 User is offline   Gnaw 

  • Recovering eating disordered addict of HHM
  • View gallery
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 5,966
  • Joined: 16-June 12

Posted 12 February 2015 - 08:38 PM

View Posttwelve, on 12 February 2015 - 08:35 PM, said:

Pretty sure she is taking 105


I don't know. If it were me, I'd discard it and guarantee it ends up in one of the other three spots.
"Between stimulus and response there is a space. In that space is our power to choose our response. In our response lies our growth and our freedom." - Viktor Frankl
0

#623 User is offline   D'rek 

  • Consort of High House Mafia
  • Group: Super Moderators
  • Posts: 14,619
  • Joined: 08-August 07
  • Location::

Posted 12 February 2015 - 08:39 PM

Choose 105. Orient with the non-WH side towards the GC. Influence.

View Postworrywort, on 14 September 2012 - 08:07 PM, said:

I kinda love it when D'rek unleashes her nerd wrath, as I knew she would here. Sorry innocent bystanders, but someone's gotta be the kindling.
0

#624 User is offline   Blend 

  • Gentleman of High House Mafia
  • View gallery
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 4,579
  • Joined: 28-March 03
  • Location:Ottawa

Posted 12 February 2015 - 08:40 PM

Tier 1 TXT file updated according to Drek's orders
There is no struggle too vast, no odds too overwhelming, for even should we fail - should we fall - we will know that we have lived. ~ Anomander Rake
My sig comes from a game in which I didn't heed Blend's advice. So maybe this time I should. ~ Khellendros
I'm just going to have to come to terms with the fact that self-vote suiciding will forever be referred to as "pulling a JPK" now, aren't I? ~ JPK
0

#625 User is offline   D'rek 

  • Consort of High House Mafia
  • Group: Super Moderators
  • Posts: 14,619
  • Joined: 08-August 07
  • Location::

Posted 12 February 2015 - 08:41 PM

View PostGalactic Council, on 12 February 2015 - 08:32 PM, said:

View PostD, on 12 February 2015 - 08:28 PM, said:

View Posttwelve, on 12 February 2015 - 08:24 PM, said:

View PostD, on 12 February 2015 - 08:23 PM, said:

So you're saying if I explore tier 2 now I don't get a 2nd draw?


Yes. There is only one tier II tile left.


The rulebook just says you "may turn 2 hexes and choose one, or discard both" without saying where those hexes must come from or any "if there is only one hex remaining you may only draw one".

Oh well. You should've left me the hive. Then I would've argued it more strenuously.


Don't you remember the hoops you and I jumped through to get just 24 hexes for game IV? the text files with codes so that I as mod wouldn't know what hexes were still available.

This is exactly how we did tier 1 and 2 that game as well.


Sure, for setting up the stacks, but that has nothing to do with Draco specials :p


Whatever, I'm not especially bothered. Just sad Chi Draconis didn't show up.

When I play at my friend's house we actually usually house rule that discarded hexes are thrown in the box and replaced with the ones that aren't in the game, so that the stacks can't become predictable if there are too many discards.

View Postworrywort, on 14 September 2012 - 08:07 PM, said:

I kinda love it when D'rek unleashes her nerd wrath, as I knew she would here. Sorry innocent bystanders, but someone's gotta be the kindling.
0

#626 User is offline   Galactic Council 

  • God
  • Group: Game Mod
  • Posts: 4,983
  • Joined: 30-April 13

Posted 12 February 2015 - 08:43 PM

View PostBlend, on 12 February 2015 - 08:40 PM, said:

Tier 1 TXT file updated according to Drek's orders


now remember, 103 is now in the discard pile. There are only 2 random tile picks left. The (probably last one) is 103 by default.


D'rek is right. 103 is essentially gone from the game now.

This post has been edited by Galactic Council: 12 February 2015 - 09:29 PM

0

#627 User is offline   Blend 

  • Gentleman of High House Mafia
  • View gallery
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 4,579
  • Joined: 28-March 03
  • Location:Ottawa

Posted 12 February 2015 - 08:44 PM

View PostGalactic Council, on 12 February 2015 - 08:43 PM, said:

View PostBlend, on 12 February 2015 - 08:40 PM, said:

Tier 1 TXT file updated according to Drek's orders


now remember, 103 is now in the discard pile. There are only 2 random tile picks left. The (probably last one) is 103 by default.


The text file looks as follows:

Quote

101
104
106
102

4


______

Discards

103


So only 2 more of those 4 Tier 1 tiles are 'in game,' once they're drawn, whichever two aren't drawn are taken out and there's only 103 left, yes?
There is no struggle too vast, no odds too overwhelming, for even should we fail - should we fall - we will know that we have lived. ~ Anomander Rake
My sig comes from a game in which I didn't heed Blend's advice. So maybe this time I should. ~ Khellendros
I'm just going to have to come to terms with the fact that self-vote suiciding will forever be referred to as "pulling a JPK" now, aren't I? ~ JPK
0

#628 User is offline   D'rek 

  • Consort of High House Mafia
  • Group: Super Moderators
  • Posts: 14,619
  • Joined: 08-August 07
  • Location::

Posted 12 February 2015 - 08:47 PM

View PostBlend, on 12 February 2015 - 08:44 PM, said:

View PostGalactic Council, on 12 February 2015 - 08:43 PM, said:

View PostBlend, on 12 February 2015 - 08:40 PM, said:

Tier 1 TXT file updated according to Drek's orders


now remember, 103 is now in the discard pile. There are only 2 random tile picks left. The (probably last one) is 103 by default.


The text file looks as follows:

Quote

101
104
106
102

4


______

Discards

103


So only 2 more of those 4 Tier 1 tiles are 'in game,' once they're drawn, whichever two aren't drawn are taken out and there's only 103 left, yes?


No.

In a 2-6 player game, only the Outer Sectors (Tier 3) are setup with a "limited" stack at the start of the game.
In a 7-9 player game, only the Middle and Outer Sectors are setup with a "limited" stack at the start of the game.

The Inner Sectors are not affected and all remain "active" in the stack/discard pile.

View Postworrywort, on 14 September 2012 - 08:07 PM, said:

I kinda love it when D'rek unleashes her nerd wrath, as I knew she would here. Sorry innocent bystanders, but someone's gotta be the kindling.
0

#629 User is offline   Blend 

  • Gentleman of High House Mafia
  • View gallery
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 4,579
  • Joined: 28-March 03
  • Location:Ottawa

Posted 12 February 2015 - 08:48 PM

View PostD, on 12 February 2015 - 08:47 PM, said:

View PostBlend, on 12 February 2015 - 08:44 PM, said:

View PostGalactic Council, on 12 February 2015 - 08:43 PM, said:

View PostBlend, on 12 February 2015 - 08:40 PM, said:

Tier 1 TXT file updated according to Drek's orders


now remember, 103 is now in the discard pile. There are only 2 random tile picks left. The (probably last one) is 103 by default.


The text file looks as follows:

Quote

101
104
106
102

4


______

Discards

103


So only 2 more of those 4 Tier 1 tiles are 'in game,' once they're drawn, whichever two aren't drawn are taken out and there's only 103 left, yes?


No.

In a 2-6 player game, only the Outer Sectors (Tier 3) are setup with a "limited" stack at the start of the game.
In a 7-9 player game, only the Middle and Outer Sectors are setup with a "limited" stack at the start of the game.

The Inner Sectors are not affected and all remain "active" in the stack/discard pile.


Noted!
There is no struggle too vast, no odds too overwhelming, for even should we fail - should we fall - we will know that we have lived. ~ Anomander Rake
My sig comes from a game in which I didn't heed Blend's advice. So maybe this time I should. ~ Khellendros
I'm just going to have to come to terms with the fact that self-vote suiciding will forever be referred to as "pulling a JPK" now, aren't I? ~ JPK
0

#630 User is offline   D'rek 

  • Consort of High House Mafia
  • Group: Super Moderators
  • Posts: 14,619
  • Joined: 08-August 07
  • Location::

Posted 12 February 2015 - 08:50 PM

And just to mess with our brains even more, the RotA rules say:

"If the Descendants of Draco draw a Hive hex tile when Exploring, they must discard it and draw another one."

'Must' being a fair bit more imperative than 'may'... and still not saying where they have to draw another hex from!

View Postworrywort, on 14 September 2012 - 08:07 PM, said:

I kinda love it when D'rek unleashes her nerd wrath, as I knew she would here. Sorry innocent bystanders, but someone's gotta be the kindling.
0

#631 User is offline   Gnaw 

  • Recovering eating disordered addict of HHM
  • View gallery
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 5,966
  • Joined: 16-June 12

Posted 12 February 2015 - 08:54 PM

If we do it the way D'rek is arguing then Blend needs to re-roll his choice with all the remaining hexes except 209 and 212.

Twelve and I are saying that once 12 tiles are selected then the only remaining possible tiles are the discards. I.e. 209 and 212.

Okey, I'm stepping out of the discussion.

This is IH's game.

This is down to one of those things that would take 2 minutes to decide live in tabletop.

This post has been edited by Gnaw: 12 February 2015 - 08:55 PM

"Between stimulus and response there is a space. In that space is our power to choose our response. In our response lies our growth and our freedom." - Viktor Frankl
0

#632 User is offline   D'rek 

  • Consort of High House Mafia
  • Group: Super Moderators
  • Posts: 14,619
  • Joined: 08-August 07
  • Location::

Posted 12 February 2015 - 08:57 PM

View PostGnaw, on 12 February 2015 - 08:54 PM, said:

If we do it the way D'rek is arguing then Blend needs to re-roll his choice with all the remaining hexes except 209 and 212.

Twelve and I are saying that once 12 tiles are selected then the only remaining possible tiles are the discards. I.e. 209 and 212.

Okey, I'm stepping out of the discussion.

This is IH's game.

This is down to one of those things that would take 2 minutes to decide live in tabletop.


I'm not arguing for that for the Tier 2 hexes. Only for the Tier 1 hexes. The 7-9 player rules do state that for Middle Sectors (Tier 2) you build a stack of 12, like the Outer Sectors (Tier 3) in a regular game.

I was also pushing for exceptions specifically for Draco, of course. I am Draco, ergo I must try and finnagle my way into publicly breaking as many rules as possible. It's tradition. Even if I got away with it, that would not affect how we're doing things for everyone else.

Nothing needs to be re-rolled.

View Postworrywort, on 14 September 2012 - 08:07 PM, said:

I kinda love it when D'rek unleashes her nerd wrath, as I knew she would here. Sorry innocent bystanders, but someone's gotta be the kindling.
0

#633 User is offline   twelve 

  • Master of the Deck
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 9,166
  • Joined: 27-March 09
  • Location:Pacific Northwest

Posted 12 February 2015 - 09:00 PM

like I said some go to the forums on boardgame geek for official ruling.
I don't know what I'm doing but it sounds good.
0

#634 User is offline   Gnaw 

  • Recovering eating disordered addict of HHM
  • View gallery
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 5,966
  • Joined: 16-June 12

Posted 12 February 2015 - 09:07 PM

View PostD, on 12 February 2015 - 08:57 PM, said:

View PostGnaw, on 12 February 2015 - 08:54 PM, said:

If we do it the way D'rek is arguing then Blend needs to re-roll his choice with all the remaining hexes except 209 and 212.

Twelve and I are saying that once 12 tiles are selected then the only remaining possible tiles are the discards. I.e. 209 and 212.

Okey, I'm stepping out of the discussion.

This is IH's game.

This is down to one of those things that would take 2 minutes to decide live in tabletop.


I'm not arguing for that for the Tier 2 hexes. Only for the Tier 1 hexes. The 7-9 player rules do state that for Middle Sectors (Tier 2) you build a stack of 12, like the Outer Sectors (Tier 3) in a regular game.

I was also pushing for exceptions specifically for Draco, of course. I am Draco, ergo I must try and finnagle my way into publicly breaking as many rules as possible. It's tradition. Even if I got away with it, that would not affect how we're doing things for everyone else.

Nothing needs to be re-rolled.


Oh. I mis-understood you.

And I went to all the trouble of digging out how in game IV we did tier II exactly the same way. :p

Spoiler

"Between stimulus and response there is a space. In that space is our power to choose our response. In our response lies our growth and our freedom." - Viktor Frankl
0

#635 User is offline   twelve 

  • Master of the Deck
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 9,166
  • Joined: 27-March 09
  • Location:Pacific Northwest

Posted 12 February 2015 - 09:10 PM

On a side note. I was just noticing that if I was a Magellan race I'd be loving the fact that no matter which way I go I've got discovery tiles all around me. But too bad I'm not. This is looking a bit bleak for a mechanema start so far.
I don't know what I'm doing but it sounds good.
0

#636 User is offline   Gnaw 

  • Recovering eating disordered addict of HHM
  • View gallery
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 5,966
  • Joined: 16-June 12

Posted 12 February 2015 - 09:13 PM

D'rek is right and I'm wrong. Again.

View PostImperial Historian, on 25 October 2013 - 03:45 PM, said:

I think gnaw must be mistakenly applying tier 3 and tier 2 logic to tier 1.

Tier 2 and 3 have defined size decks, when one is discarded it's placed in a discard pile, if all the deck is empty we go back to the discard pile.

In tier 3 this means any discarded hex, will still be available.

In tier 2, this means that any discarded hex is also going to have to be placed if all tier 2 hexes are explored

In tier 1 this is not the case, as there are always 8 hexes in the tier 1 deck, and 6 possible hexes, so discards don't necessarily come into play.

I think Gnaw might be assuming the double ancient will have to be played by someone else if he doesn't, so gives him an advantage, but that doesn't apply in tier 1.

"Between stimulus and response there is a space. In that space is our power to choose our response. In our response lies our growth and our freedom." - Viktor Frankl
0

#637 User is offline   D'rek 

  • Consort of High House Mafia
  • Group: Super Moderators
  • Posts: 14,619
  • Joined: 08-August 07
  • Location::

Posted 12 February 2015 - 09:16 PM

Don't beat yourself up about it. Remember that shrubbery doesn't generally have a nervous system.



...uh, but ghosts totally do!

View Postworrywort, on 14 September 2012 - 08:07 PM, said:

I kinda love it when D'rek unleashes her nerd wrath, as I knew she would here. Sorry innocent bystanders, but someone's gotta be the kindling.
0

#638 User is offline   Gnaw 

  • Recovering eating disordered addict of HHM
  • View gallery
  • Group: High House Mafia
  • Posts: 5,966
  • Joined: 16-June 12

Posted 12 February 2015 - 09:20 PM

View PostD, on 12 February 2015 - 09:16 PM, said:

Don't beat yourself up about it. Remember that shrubbery doesn't generally have a nervous system.



...uh, but ghosts totally do!


Well, I'd be a bit sheepish.

But you totally did try to get us to give you access to all the tier II hexes. :p
"Between stimulus and response there is a space. In that space is our power to choose our response. In our response lies our growth and our freedom." - Viktor Frankl
0

#639 User is offline   D'rek 

  • Consort of High House Mafia
  • Group: Super Moderators
  • Posts: 14,619
  • Joined: 08-August 07
  • Location::

Posted 12 February 2015 - 09:23 PM

View PostGnaw, on 12 February 2015 - 09:20 PM, said:

View PostD, on 12 February 2015 - 09:16 PM, said:

Don't beat yourself up about it. Remember that shrubbery doesn't generally have a nervous system.



...uh, but ghosts totally do!


Well, I'd be a bit sheepish.

But you totally did try to get us to give you access to all the tier II hexes. :p


Yup. Key word is 'you', as in ME!!! I don't want to share them, they're all mine!!!

View Postworrywort, on 14 September 2012 - 08:07 PM, said:

I kinda love it when D'rek unleashes her nerd wrath, as I knew she would here. Sorry innocent bystanders, but someone's gotta be the kindling.
1

#640 User is offline   Galactic Council 

  • God
  • Group: Game Mod
  • Posts: 4,983
  • Joined: 30-April 13

Posted 12 February 2015 - 09:33 PM

Action Phase Round 1

Turn 1

IH - Explore tier II north of home-world
  • IH - Zeta Reculi 207
  • Keep. Influence. Orient NE, S, SE.
  • Discovery is +8 money. Take as money. +8 == $10

Tapper - Explore tier II north of home-world

  • Mu Herculis 205
  • Keep. Influence. Orient S, SE, NE.

Tatts - Explore tier II NE of home-world

  • Lambda Formacis (Hive) 212
  • cuss and discard

CF - Explore tier II SE of home-world

  • Iota Persei 208
  • Keep. Influence. Orient NW, S, SE, N
  • Discovery +5 science. keep as science. +5 sci == 8 sci

Blend - Explore tier II SE of home-world
  • 281 Delta Corvi
  • Keep. Influence. Orient S, SE, N, NW
  • discovery ancient tech. keep as VP.

Twelve - Explore tier II S of home world
  • 295 nebula hex
  • Keep. Orient so that ancient ship is on SW and NW

Gnaw - Explore
  • tier II sw of home-world
    • 211 Beta Aquilae
    • Keep. Orient with blanks S and SE
  • tier III S of home-world
    • 316 Iota Carinae
    • Keep. Influence. Orient S, NE, N
    • Discovery jump drive. Keep. Place in blank spot on cruiser
    • The Overmind rejoices!

D'rek - Explore SE of home-world
  • 204 Vega and 209.
  • Keep 204. Influence. Orient S, SE, NE, NW

Khell - Explore tier II NW of home-world
  • Psi Capricorni 210
  • Keep. Influence. Orient S, SE, N


Turn 2

IH - Explore NW of 207
  • 213 Iota Bootis
  • Keep. Influence. Orient S, SE, NE, NW

Tapper - Explore tier I NE of 205
  • 108 Mu Cassiopeia
  • Keep. Orient so as to block the tier ! to the north. (SE, NE, NW, SW)

Tattersail - Explore tier II NE of home-world
  • 271 Ancient Home-World
  • Lose his shit.
  • Keep. Oriient SE, NE, NW, SW

CF - Explore tier 1 SE of 208
  • 107 Aldebaran
  • Keep. Influence. Orient with sole blank S

Blend - Explore tier II S of home-world
  • 212 Hive
  • Keep. Orient with 6 to the N. (why, I have no idea.)

Twelve - Explore tier III NE of home-world
  • 320 Nu Ophiuchi
  • Keep. Orient SW, S, SE

Gnaw - Research Neutron Bombs for 2 science. -2 sci == 2 sic remaining


D'rek - Explore tier I NE of 201
  • 103 and 105.
  • Keeps 105. Orient so that the blank spot is against the GC. Influence

Khell,

Turn 3:

IH,

Tapper (If a second provisional is required: explore the tier 2 between IH and myself, if open. If not, I will have to think.),

Tatts: my provisional for turn 3 is to explore North west of my homeworld

This post has been edited by Galactic Council: 12 February 2015 - 09:58 PM

0

Share this topic:


  • 140 Pages +
  • « First
  • 30
  • 31
  • 32
  • 33
  • 34
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

5 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 5 guests, 0 anonymous users