Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Lizards in the Pipes Xenofiction; please help

#1 User is offline   Melnibonean Wanderer 

• Recruit
  • Group: Malaz Regular

Posted 31 December 2014 - 01:00 AM

Preface: This is my first attempt at writing from a nonhuman perspective. The purpose of this piece is to establish a Vaik character that is alien, yet...something whose actions we can interpret through a human lens?

The Entropy Hellkite broods where the fires of Vurakkedi’scalderas meet the burning rivers of tar winding through the firelit jungleswhose leaf-veins glow with a turgid redness. A molt of lichen, moss and fungisway and ignite in the volcanic winds blowing down from the calderas. I standat the bank of a ruptured vein inviting me to partake of its blood of burningtar before I leave the present for the convergence of past and future. Withinthe blood I shiver as scales shift and ducts open to add fire to the fuel of mykiln. Breaking the surface I catch the scent of my materials—soft, dark shellsconcealing viscera charged with the land’s lava—and feel as if I am one with myartist’s tools.

Scales of brimstone and blood seething with lava cling to mytools, defying the lava elemental stalking my three-chambered volcano. Anunstable incarnation of rotllava, bloodlava and vitallava, it appears as adragon whose flared hood reveals flaming egg-things that hatch humansmanipulating the three lavas to create the catalyst for the first dragon'signition. This is the ignition that consumed the stability of the barren domainof the Talgharkor. From this ignition the cosmic dragon laid a clutch of eggsin great firestorm. The elemental dragon burns them away, and their soulslinger in my three-chambered volcano, prey that my tools cannot kill. So Icontinue to hunt the mechanisms that these humans use to create the draconiccatalysts.