Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

TOR.com's Re-read of the Malazan Series

#1 User is offline   KidA 

• Recruit
  • Group: Malaz Regular

Posted 08 December 2014 - 12:51 AM

Hello everyone. I am brand new to the Malazan series and I'm incredibly surprised by how much I'm liking the first book in the series. I was quite apprehensive about starting this series mostly because of how tough it is widely known to be. Luckily I have found the first book intriguing even if many say it is the weakest. I really enjoy TOR's rereading of series. I followed the The First Law reread and really like reading the analysis of each chapter. I started reading the GOTM re-read but I'm worried about going further because of spoilers. The second post mentions that the writers of the articles will start delving into overall story arcs and themes of the whole series. I noticed on other posts that some of you have followed the TOR re-reads while starting the series and just wanted to figure out how much is spoiled from those articles. Is it safe for me to follow the articles with each chapter that I read? How far into the series do these articles spoil (if any across the various books)?

I can't wait to be fully engaged in this world as many of you are!

#2 User is offline   Illuyankas 

• Retro Classic
  • Group: The Hateocracy of Truth
  • Will cluck you up

Posted 08 December 2014 - 12:59 AM

As far as I remember, each chapter is divided up into a new reader half and a reread spoiler (full-series spoilers, not just current book spoilers) half, with the first timer going first, and starting at some point SE comes in and answers questions at the end of each book's reread. So you should be safe if you quit out after the first section.