Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Chapter One, Book One read it and let me know what you think

#1 User is offline   Mason of High House Death 

• Recruit
  • Group: Malaz Regular

Posted 04 July 2011 - 08:17 PM

Below is an exerpt from Chapter One of a series I've been working on for a couple years now - three quarters of the way through book 2 at the moment.

Just thought I'd post it here and see what you folks thought.

Chapter One

3891 After the Departure (AD)
A city of rage…

Decay was a dark undercurrent that permeated every shadowy alcove of the city, every crumbling wharf and rotting dock pier, leaving a faint, miasmic stench that hung heavy in the turgid air, competing with the odour of decomposition that rose from the jungle floor with its padded layer of leaf mould and animal remains. Through the sulphurous yellow haze of sea-coal, mingling with the gasses that drifted in from the lee-side swampland, the buildings of the city rose squat and hulking, wreathed in fumes and appearing like some vast, primordial beasts looming out of eons past, eager for blood-sacrifice. Their craggy, stained visages, laced with pitted cracks where fungi and creeping vine had eagerly taken root, told a tale all of their own, a tale of neglect, oppression, and a slow, backward slide into bestiality, the splendour of ages past cruelly malformed into something that was dank, foul and perverse.