Malazan Empire: Is the MBoTF series too big and complicated? - Malazan Empire

• 5 Pages +
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Is the MBoTF series too big and complicated?

#1 User is offline   Axil 

• Recruit
  • Group: Malaz Regular

Posted 16 March 2010 - 11:30 AM

I've only read book one, and this is my second fantasy series, so I'm by no means an expert. That said, I found it very hard to visualize Erikson's world in my mind. There are way too many locations with not enough description. The magic system is fascinating but, again, not enough description (For example, at major plot points in the book, main characters are throwing around jars with demons in them. wtf? where did that come from?).

The more I read the more I came to the realization that Erikson created a world too complex to set a story in. This became especially apparent at the ending, which was way too fast and random. It seemed like solutions were being pulled out of thin air and that magic was being used as a crutch. I'll be giving Deadhouse Gates a try, mainly because I'm impressed with the imagination shown in the books, if not the storytelling. So far, the series isn't my style, though.

#2 User is offline   beru 

• shy guy
  • Interests:gaming (strategy/tactic first persons)<br />reading<br />swiming

Posted 16 March 2010 - 11:35 AM

gardens of the moon is a hard book to read the first time, manly beacuse (as you said) of the little info you get, but as you read the following books you will get a more compleate picture of the Malazan world.
i want to see this world where T'lan imass kneels

#3 User is offline   Aptorian 

• How 'bout a hug?
  • Group: The Wheelchairs of War

Posted 16 March 2010 - 11:37 AM

The real world is a complicated mess, why should a fantasy world be any different?