Malazan Empire: My day as a kidherd and scourge of pedophiles - Malazan Empire

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

My day as a kidherd and scourge of pedophiles It might be a fun thread. You should read it.

#1 User is offline   Raymond Luxury Yacht 

• Throatwobbler Mangrove
  • Group: Grumpy Old Sods
  • Interests:Quiet desperation and self-loathing

Posted 30 April 2009 - 01:41 AM

This story has already been posted in the Pub, but I came to the realization that putting fun stories in the Pub means most people won't ever see them. So from here out, fun stories get their own thread.

Today I had to herd a class of middle schoolers several blocks through downtown Seattle to the field we were playing on. (If you didn't know, I am a substitute teacher)There was one teacher leading, I was bringing up the rear making sure the pack stayed together and there were no stray kids, or weirdos trying to grab someone. At one point it occurred to me that I felt like a cowboy bringing my herd to market. "Hup, hup, move along now. Yippee ki yi yay, git along little kiddies." I was vastly entertained, and imagined myself having to lasso a runaway, or head off a stampede. Suddenly the possibility of bandits ambushing the chuck wagon seemed very real.

Then, my herd was threatened. A panel van pulled up ahead of us, and the driver rolled down his window and honest-to-God-no-shit held out a full paper bag , beckoning the kids over to his van to come get it. No no, hell no. Not today, buddy. I got over there before the kids did, shooed them away from the van, and was preparing to call the police. Well, turns out it was a false alarm. The guy runs a sack lunch food program for the homeless, and the kids volunteer there sometimes so they knew him. The stereotypical creepy panel van was the program's, for making deliveries. He was just going to give them one of the lunches. So, no harm done, but shit got interesting for a second there.