Malazan Empire: Will no one dare to discuss this about DG? - Malazan Empire

• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Will no one dare to discuss this about DG?

#1 User is offline   Introspect 

• Recruit
  • Group: Malaz Regular

Posted 22 September 2014 - 01:38 AM

This might be blasphemy to some of you and considering I'm a newbie at this, go easy on me.Posted Image

Will no one discuss how stretched out the chain of dogs section of the book was? I mean, I get the fact that Mr Erikson is trying to make us experience the grind and the torturous-ness. But really, I felt the pace of the book was a bit off especially considering how the book ended with quite an unforeseen climax. It was difficult for me to get through Duiker's internal monologuing. I sometimes feel that Erikson struggles with how to manage the plot. Maybe its because he is first an anthropologist and then a writer. I wonder if his writing gets better as the series progresses. Also I am no writer and I am just posting this as an avid reader of books.

#2 User is offline   Andorion 

• God
  • Interests:All things Malazan, sundry sci-fi and fantasy, history, Iron Maiden

Posted 22 September 2014 - 01:52 AM

Introspect, on 22 September 2014 - 01:38 AM, said:

This might be blasphemy to some of you and considering I'm a newbie at this, go easy on me.Posted Image