Malazan Empire: ICFA Interview with SE and Ian McDonald - Malazan Empire

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

ICFA Interview with SE and Ian McDonald

#1 User is offline   Ribald 

• Scholar of High House Academia
  • Group: Malaz Regular
  • Interests:Freelance Editor, Advance Reader, and academic with a PhD in Fantasy Literature.

Posted 21 April 2014 - 05:56 AM

http://www.jonathans...d-ian-mcdonald/

the Coode Street Podcasts are usually excellent interviews and their backlist might be of additional interest to some.

This was recorded at the ICFA conference in Orlando, Florida, and he theme of the conference had been 'Fantastic Empires'.
Trust me, I'm a doctor.
www.thecriticaldragon.com

#2 User is offline   Aptorian 

• How 'bout a hug?
  • Group: The Wheelchairs of War

Posted 21 April 2014 - 09:56 AM

Listening to this now.

Never considered the Edur vs Lether conflict as an analogue for a "What if" scenario where the Sioux Indians marched upon Washington DC and won their war.

#3 User is offline   Studlock 

• First Sword

Posted 21 April 2014 - 12:21 PM

I always thought Lether was analogous to the USA (as did others) but never thought the Edur as the Sioux tribes (the lack of horses and the iron swords through me through a loop but I guess neither are directly analogous). I always love hearing SE speak about his books because it highlights the opposite of what some people tend to think on this board and aboard (ha ha) that MBotF is simply a series of awesome events with little to no meat.

#4 User is offline   Aptorian 

• How 'bout a hug?
  • Group: The Wheelchairs of War

Posted 21 April 2014 - 12:35 PM

View PostStudlock, on 21 April 2014 - 12:21 PM, said: